Class dojo

I have been looking in to ICTs that I can incorporate in to my daily pedagogical practice once I begin teaching full time. A resource that I have found particularly interesting in relation to classroom and behaviour management is called Class Dojo.

This tool allows you to track students positive and negative behaviours during the day in real time. Having this open during class means it only takes a few seconds to acknowledge positive behaviours and to redirect and take note of negative behaviours. This system not only provides students with a visual reminder of how they are going during the day, it also provides the teacher with information at a glance to see trends in behavioural data including individual and whole class statistics. This can allow a teacher to identify pattern behaviours early in order to address them.

Class dojo is more than just a tracking system for behavioural information, it also allows parents and caregivers to register and keep track of their child’s progress and communicate directly with the teacher online. This is an ICT resource that I am excited about trying out in my own classroom when I graduate…can’t wait to find some more!!

Leave a comment